GOD DOES HAVE A PLAN FOR HIS PEOPLE

Gods plan for you

GOD DOES HAVE A PLAN FOR HIS PEOPLE

Michael Jeshurun

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” [Jer 29:11] or as the NASB has it – “For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.”

God has personally spoken to me through this verse many a time during my past 29 years of walk with Him; and though there be many skeptics who say, “Oh that was a Word to the Jews or to Jeremiah or whatever . . . I KNOW when God speaks to my heart. “Blessed is the people that know the joyful sound: they shall walk, O LORD, in the light of Thy countenance.” [Psalm 89:15]

And yes it could have been a word spoken to a saint of old thousands of years ago, but as Spurgeon says – “whatever God has said to any one saint He has said to all. When He opens a well for one man it is that all may drink. When the manna falls, it is not only for those in the wilderness, but we by faith do eat the manna still. No promise is of private interpretation. When God openeth a granary-door to give out food, there may be some one starving man who is the occasion of its being opened, but all the hungry besides may come and feed too. Whether He gave the word to Abraham or to Moses it matters not; He has given it to thee as one of the covenanted seed. There is not a high blessing too lofty for thee; nor a wide mercy too extensive for thee.” Amen!

Now notice the Word above – “I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD!” God DOES have a ‘wonderful plan’ for His saints after all! And we’re not talking about the kind of ‘wonderful plan’ which the heretics of the ‘Word Faith Movement’ like Benny Hinn and Joyce Meyer promise to all who will but ‘accept’ Christ as their savior  – a life of worldly prosperity and divine health. . . but a plan to conform us to the image of His Son and be glorified in our lives to the utmost!

Said the man after God’s own heart – “Many, O LORD my God, are Thy wonderful works which thou hast done, and THY THOUGHTS WHICH ARE TO US-WARD: they cannot be reckoned up in order unto Thee: if I would declare and speak of them, THEY ARE MORE THAN CAN BE NUMBERED!” [Psalm 40:5] And again – “How precious also are THY THOUGHTS UNTO ME, O God! How great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they are MORE IN NUMBER THAN THE SAND!” [Psalm 139:17]

And though many of my own ‘plans’ have failed, my dreams unfulfilled and some of my darling gourds blasted as was Jonah’s;  yet God’s plan for me will NEVER fail! For my God is not only omniscient knowing the ‘end from the beginning’ (Isa 46:10) but He is omnipotent – meaning ALL POWERFUL; and can perform that which He desires! No power on earth, Heaven or Hell can thwart the plan of God for His people! When He says, “The redeemed of the Lord shall come!” (Isaiah 51:11) you can be sure as there is a God that THEY SHALL COME! Remember? “All that the Father giveth Me SHALL COME TO ME; and him that cometh to Me I WILL IN NO WISE CAST OUT!” [John 6:37]

And as Loraine Boettner so aptly put it – “Amid all the apparent defeats and inconsistencies of life, God actually moves on in undisturbed majesty!”  Hallelujah!

So cheer up my dear Christian Brother/Sister . . . God’s plan for you will not fail! For He is faithful that promised! [Heb 10:23]

As one divine put it –

I asked God for strength that I might achieve.

I was made weak that I might learn humbly to obey.

I asked for health that I might do greater things.

I was given infirmity that I might do better things.
I asked for riches that I might be happy.
I was given poverty that I might be wise.
I asked for power that I might have the praise of men.
I was given weakness that I might feel the need of God.
I asked for all things that I might enjoy life.
I was given life that I might enjoy all things.
I got nothing that I asked for, but everything I hoped for.
Almost despite myself, my unspoken prayers were answered.
I am, among all men, most richly blessed.

Praise the Lord!

Leave a Reply

