IF GOD HAS CHOSEN YOU TO BE HIS CHILD – HE IS YOUR FATHER FOREVER!

Everlasting Father

IF GOD HAS CHOSEN YOU TO BE HIS CHILD – HE IS YOUR FATHER FOREVER!

 Michael Jeshurun

 “For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, THE EVERLASTING FATHER, The Prince of Peace.” [Isaiah 9:6]

 Brethren, I want to share with you an experience which I had a few days ago which truly blessed me and once again established in my heart the Assurance of the great Salvation we possess!

Recently a situation arose in our home where my elder son upset me to such an extent that I wanted to politely ask him to leave if he so desired.

But a little later it just dawned on me that I could NEVER do such a thing! I could NEVER ask him to ‘take a walk’ . . . just for the sole reason that HE IS MY SON AND I LOVE HIM SO MUCH. How could I ask him to LEAVE? God forbid!

And even as I was contemplating on this, it suddenly hit me – that if I being such an evil man should reason thus about my son  . . . how much more my Heavenly Father. Oh beloved, this opened up a whole new dimension to the love which the Father has toward me! I have blown it so many times, sinned against Him with a high hand and even ruined His reputation as did the Prodigal, and for the most part am ‘unprofitable’ to Him and yet for all that HE NEVER CEASES TO LOVE ME, comfort me and continue to shower me with His blessings; and all because I AM HIS SON!

This thing about the love that a father has towards his son is quite mysterious. Even amongst us mortals, no matter how badly a son may have blown it or mistreated his father, the father in most cases if not all seems to still affectionately yearn for his son and love him . . . the love of David for his rebellious son Absalom being a case in point. Absalom rebelled against his father David, plotted against him, slept with his concubines etc . . . and yet when he dies, David laments crying – “O my son Absalom, my son, my son Absalom! would God I had died for thee, O Absalom, my son, my son!” [2Sam 18:33]

Beloved, if such is the bond and affection of an EARTHLY father toward his son, what must be the bond between the Everlasting Father (Isa 9:6) and His children!

When I pondered on this matter, the truth of ETERNAL SECURITY was once again established to me and WRITTEN ON MY HEART AS IT WERE WITH AN IRON PEN! Praise the Lord!

I know that my God will NEVER ever disown me, though He might as the need arises rebuke and chasten me at times! What a consolation is this brethren! And our Lord by His glorious atonement hath raised us or rather qualified us to become the sons and daughters of the Most High! “But as many as received Him, to them gave He power to become THE SONS OF GOD, even to them that believe on His name!” [John 1:12] And again, “Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called THE SONS OF GOD: therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew Him not.” [1Jn 3:1]

And once a son, always a son! God NEVER disowns His sons and daughters! Even the father of the Prodigal – (the prodigal who had wasted his substance with riotous living) when he returned; addresses him as “THIS MY SON!” [see Luke 15:24]

The eternal Word of Jehovah to all His elect is – “I am a FATHER to Israel, and Ephraim is my firstborn!” [Jer 31:9]

Praise the Lord!

2 thoughts on “IF GOD HAS CHOSEN YOU TO BE HIS CHILD – HE IS YOUR FATHER FOREVER!

  1. What if one of His sons refuses to turn away from a particular sin that the Father has chastised the son for? I see many scriptures that imply if we don’t obey we don’t belong to Him. This is confusing to me.

    • Dear Sister, in the first place a person gets to be a Christian because God has not only chosen him to salvation, but has in time given him the understanding to understand the gospel, the faith to believe it and the willingness to repent of his sinful ways.

      Now THIS being the case, and the scripture testifying that “it is God which worketh in you both TO WILL AND TO DO of His good pleasure!” [Phil 2:13] it stands to reason that Christ is not only the Author of the Christian’s faith, but also the finisher of it! (see Heb 12:2)

      A backsliding Son of the Most High will ALWAYS refuse to turn from his sin, UNTIL and unless GOD gives him the needed ‘repentance’! And God WILL give ALL His chosen children the needed sense to “come to themselves” as did the prodigal and return home! In other words God promises to HEAL their backsliding and love them freely as He always did from eternity past! (see Hosea 14:4)

      The good work which God began in His chosen ones He WILL finish it, and to Him ALONE shall be ALL the glory! [Philippians 1:6]

Leave a Reply

