The Church’s Most Unexpected Guest

Churchs unexpected guest

The Church’s Most Unexpected Guest

“Now there was a day when the sons of God came to present themselves before the LORD, and Satan came also among them!” [Job 1:6]

“I never thought I’d see you here!”
Said the parishioner to the Devil.
“Tell me, why did you come to church?
It just isn’t on your level.”

“I thought that you hung out in bars
And all those worldly places.
I can’t believe that you’d come here
With all these Christian faces.”

“Oh! I don’t worry about those in the bars,
They’re already in my corps.
I spend my precious time in the place
Where I need most to score.”

“So I always come to church,
And I come for every service.
This is an important day for me,
So don’t let me make you nervous.”

“On Sunday morning I start out early.
I make things tense and jumpy;
They watched TV late last night
So they’re all tired and grumpy.”

“Going to church is not of much value
When they come with such a spirit:
Regardless how good the sermon is,
They rarely ever hear it.”

“While in church, they criticize
Whatever they see or hear.
Another battle I have won!
Their involvement in service? NO FEAR!”

“I cause a lot of little distractions,
Like people looking around.
Sometimes a frown or even a stare
Will cause good saints to lose ground.”

“I’ve confused and abused with doctrines rare
Far from God’s Holy Word.
I’ve cheated and defeated would-be-saints.
To name all my deeds would be a little absurd!”

“So will I see you again real soon?
How about the evening service?
Or do you come must once a week?
Does too much church make you nervous?”

“Anyway, when you come again,
Whenever that might be,
I’ll be right here, right on time.
You can always count on me.”

– by NE Durik

Put on the whole armor of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil [Ephesians 6:11].

2 thoughts on “The Church’s Most Unexpected Guest

    • Got the inspiration from you dear Brother. In fact I’m getting a lot of ideas for my posts through what you’ve been posting lately. 🙂 Hope you don’t mind. 🙂 Your posts are so simple and yet so deep for the quickened mind.

Leave a Reply

