WHEN IT COMES TO SALVATION, GOD HAS TO DO IT ALL!

baby amazed Salvation

WHEN IT COMES TO SALVATION, GOD HAS TO DO IT ALL!

Michael Jeshurun

“Cause me to hear Thy lovingkindness in the morning; for in Thee do I trust: cause me to know the way wherein I should walk; for I lift up my soul unto Thee.” [Psalm 143:8]

Notice here the Psalmist’s admission of Total inability!

He saith not “I will hear” or “I know the way wherein I should walk” etc but YOU Lord CAUSE ME to ‘hear’ and CAUSE ME to ‘know” and CAUSE ME to walk!

No boastings of self-confidence or ‘creature-ability’ here but UTTER HELPLESSNESS! If they do not already know it, God will teach them this priced lesson, that without HIM they can do NOTHING! [John 15:5]

Without divine illumination a saint does not even know how sinful he really is. Wherefore crieth Job, “How many are mine iniquities and sins? MAKE ME TO KNOW my transgression and my sin.” [Job 13:23]

The point of all this is that God has to do the WHOLE THING! Salvation is OF THE LORD! He not only has to speak the Word, but having spoken it He has to CAUSE YOU TO HEAR IT! And having made you to hear it, he has to MAKE YOU understand it! – “Make me to understand the way of Thy precepts” [Psalm 119:27] . . . And having made you to understand the right way He has to MAKE YOU to walk in it! “Make me to go in the path of Thy commandments!” [Psalm 119:35]

“Where is boasting then? It is excluded.” [Rom 3:27]

“Not unto US, O LORD, not unto US, but unto THY NAME give glory, for THY mercy, and for THY truth’s sake.” [Psalm 115:1]

“Grant what Thou commandest and then command what Thou wilt!” – Augustine

Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

