SEEKING GOD EARLY!

early-will-i-seek-thee

SEEKING GOD EARLY!

C.H. Spurgeon

“O God, Thou art my God; EARLY WILL I SEEK THEE: my soul thirsteth for Thee, my flesh longeth for Thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is.” [Psalm 63:1]

Early will I seek Thee. Possession breeds desire. Full assurance is no hindrance to diligence, but is the mainspring of it. How can I seek another man’s God? But it is with ardent desire that I seek after Him whom I know to be my own.

Observe the eagerness implied in the time mentioned; he will not wait for noon or the cool eventide; he is up at cockcrowing to meet his God.

Communion with God is so sweet that the chill of the morning is forgotten, and the luxury of the couch is despised.

The morning is the time for dew and freshness, and the Psalmist consecrates it to prayer and devout fellowship. The best of men have been betimes on their knees. The word EARLY has not only the sense of early in the morning, but that of eagerness and immediateness.

He who truly longs for God longs for him NOW!

Leave a Reply

