EVERY DAY WITH JESUS BETTER THAN THE DAY BEFORE

sweeter-he-grows

EVERY DAY WITH JESUS BETTER THAN THE DAY BEFORE

Since I started for the Kingdom,
Since my life He controls,
Since I gave my heart to Jesus,
The longer I serve Him,
The sweeter He grows.

Chorus
The longer I serve Him, the sweeter He grows,
The more that I love Him, more love He bestows;
Each day is like heaven, my heart overflows,
The longer I serve Him, the sweeter He grows.

Ev’ry need He is supplying,
Plenteous grace He bestows;
Ev’ry day my way gets brighter,
The longer I serve Him,
The sweeter He grows.

(The Gaither vocal band)

 

A MEDITATION ON GOD’S FAITHFULNESS

 Michael Jeshurun

 The Patriarch Jacob (Israel) while blessing his grandsons Ephraim and Manasseh testified – “God, before whom my father’s Abraham and Isaac did walk, THE GOD WHICH FED ME ALL MY LIFE LONG UNTO THIS DAY, The Angel which redeemed me from ALL EVIL, bless the lads!” [Gen 48:15]

This was the testimony of a man who had seen much evil in his life. In fact he once testified before Pharaoh – “few and evil have the days of the years of my life been!” [Gen 47:9] And yet just prior to his death he testifies of God’s great faithfulness!

As did the man after God’s own heart, when he testified – “I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread.” [Psalm 37:25] In spite of David’s great sins and backslidings the Lord remained faithful to him to the very end; so that on his deathbed he could testify –

“Now these be the LAST WORDS OF DAVID. David the son of Jesse said, and the man who was raised up on high, the anointed of the God of Jacob, and the sweet Psalmist of Israel, said . . . .

The Spirit of the LORD spake by me, and His word was in my tongue.
The God of Israel said, the Rock of Israel spake to me, He that ruleth over men must be just, ruling in the fear of God.
And he shall be as the light of the morning, when the sun riseth, even a morning without clouds; as the tender grass springing out of the earth by clear shining after rain!”

Now THAT is God’s standard for the King of Israel! But David had miserable fallen short here! And so he adds . . . .

“Although MY HOUSE BE NOT SO with God; yet He hath made with me AN EVERLASTING COVENANT, ORDERED IN ALL THINGS, AND SURE: for THIS IS ALL MY SALVATION, and all my desire, although He make it not to grow!” [2Sam 23:1-5]

Oh what a Word is that – “If we believe not, yet HE ABIDETH FAITHFUL: HE CANNOT DENY HIMSELF!” [2Tim 2:13]

And I for one can testify with my hand on my heart that all through these 29 years of knowing the Lord, HE HAS REMAINED THE SAME as when I first came to know Him! My sins, my failures, my murmurings, my backslidings and my shortcomings none of them have altered His love or faithfulness to me! He has remained the same just as His Word promises – “Jesus Christ the SAME yesterday, and today, and FOREVER!” [Heb 13:8]

Beloved, the only reason some of us have not been consumed in spite of all our provocations is because of Jehovah’s Immutability!

“We blossom and flourish, like leaves on the tree,
then wither and perish; but NOUGHT CHANGETH THEE!”

Commenting on God’s Immutability A.W. Pink writes –

“As fallen creatures we are not only mutable, but everything in us is opposed to God. As such we are “wandering stars” (Jude 13), out of our proper orbit. The wicked are “like the troubled sea, when it cannot rest” (Isa. 57:20). Fallen man is inconstant. The words of Jacob concerning Reuben apply with full force to all of Adam’s descendants: “unstable as water” (Gen. 49:4). Thus it is not only a mark of piety, but also the part of wisdom to heed that injunction, “cease ye from man” (Isa. 2:22).

NO HUMAN BEING IS TO BE DEPENDED ON. “Put not your trust in princes, in the son of man, in whom is no help” (Ps. 146:3). If I disobey God, then I deserve to be deceived and disappointed by my fellows. People who like you today, may hate you tomorrow. The multitude who cried “Hosanna to the Son of David,” speedily changed to “Away with Him, Crucify Him.”

HEREIN IS SOLID COMFORT! Human nature cannot be relied upon; but God can! However unstable I may be, however fickle my friends may prove, GOD CHANGES NOT! If He varied as we do, if He willed one thing today and another tomorrow, if He were controlled by caprice, who could confide in Him? But, all praise to His glorious name, He is ever the same. His purpose is fixed, His will stable, His Word is sure!

Here then is a Rock on which we may fix our feet, while the mighty torrent is sweeping away everything around us. The permanence of God’s character guarantees the fulfillment of His promises: “For the mountains shall depart, and the hills be removed; but MY KINDNESS SHALL NOT DEPART FROM THEE, NEITHER SHALL THE COVENANT OF MY PEACE BE REMOVED, saith the Lord that hath mercy on thee” (Isa. 54:10).

Say “Praise the Lord!”

Leave a Reply

