O MY UNBELIEVING HEART, DOST THOU YET DOUBT?!

O MY UNBELIEVING HEART, DOST THOU YET DOUBT?!

John Flavel


Oh child of God, reason thus with yourself: “If I perish for want of what is good and needful for me, it must be either because my Father knows not my wants, or has not wherewith to supply them, or regards not what becomes of me.

WHICH of these shall I charge upon Him? Not the first: for my FATHER KNOWS WHAT I HAVE NEED OF; Not the second: for the EARTH IS THE LORD’S AND THE FULLNESS THEREOF; His name is El-Shadai – the ALL-SUFFICIENT GOD. not the last: for as a father pitieth his children, so THE LORD PITIETH THEM THAT FEAR HIM; the Lord is exceeding pitiful and of tender mercy; He hears the young ravens when they cry:—and WILL HE NOT HEAR ME?

CONSIDER, says Christ, THE FOWLS OF THE AIR; not THE FOWLS AT THE DOOR, that are fed every day by hand, but the FOWLS OF THE AIR THAT HAVE NONE TO PROVIDE FOR THEM.

Does God feed and clothe His enemies, and will He forget His children? He heard even the cry of Ishmael in distress.

O my unbelieving heart, dost thou yet doubt?!

Leave a comment